Forum

Welcome to the Cannabis Investing Newsletter Forum. Feel free to find your favorite cannabis stocks and contribute content as you please; content that continues the discussion of, and analysis of, cannabis stocks. – D. H. Taylor

Notifications
Clear all

Coping with volatility in the mj sector

RSS

Topic starter

Hi DH,  I find your videos very encouraging as we hear about the great fortunes ahead in the sector.  I’ve been investing in cannabis for five years and have gone through many ups and downs.  I watched my Ira account move from $55k to $95k and then fall to $11k (early 2020), and then back up to $55k; currently I am down to $35k after last weeks short lived rally.

it’s tough emotionally to face my portfolio with the share prices tanking month after month, while meanwhile my friends in the broader market are laughing all the way to the bank.  Many days I don’t even look.

just wondering if you and other members have any techniques for dealing with what is a very punishing sector?   

4 Answers

Hey Mark, 

Fellow Cannabis investor know you are not alone. Most of us here are feeling the pain. Pain enjoys company.....Take a step back and remember your IRA is invested in an industry that is Federally illegal. However, that day is quickly coming to an end as legalization is reaching market mass. It will happen in due time and when it does there will be moments when your account sky rockets, because shorts need to close the position, just make sure you have a plan and stick too it. Also, think that you are invested in an All-American industry, the product is grown in the U.S, processed in the U.S, sold in the U.S, all the labor at those key levels is American, and the consumer is American. This is an extremely unique industry and your friends will pat you on the back when the time comes. Patience is a virtue.